Register    Login    Forum    Search    FAQ

Board index » Ed Hochuli and Officiating » Rules Questions




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 1 post ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: A Player Giving Himself Up?
 Post Posted: Sun Nov 18, 2007 9:28 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2007 3:11 pm
Posts: 1
Location: Phoenix, AZ
I'm coming out of the shadows to ask a rules question.

During the Cardinals-Bengals game today, a fumble was recovered by a Cardinals player. Like a good boy, he fell on it and didn't try to do anything fancy. He was never touched by the opposition. A few Cardinals players came over and coached him to get up and run. He gets up and runs toward the end zone.

The play was ruled dead and the ball spotted back where he fell on the ball. The reason given was that he had "given himself up", meaning he had no intention of getting up. But there was never a whistle calling the play dead.

This left us confused. My husband has never seen this rule called, so I told him that I know this place where I can get an answer. :)

Thank you, Mr. Hoculi.

MamaMia, A Cardinals Fan (that's right!)


Top 
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 1 post ] 

Board index » Ed Hochuli and Officiating » Rules Questions


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron